iPSC cell line development and manufacture for cell therapies
Mar
14
2024
Upcoming webinar

iPSC cell line development and manufacture for cell therapies

Thursday 08:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT / 16:00 CET
Sponsor
iPSC cell line development and manufacture for cell therapies

Induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) are poised to play a pivotal role in cell therapy, providing a versatile starting material for generating therapeutic cells and offering the potential for personalized medicine. Their relevance is highlighted by the growing need for timely provision of effective, off-the-shelf cell therapy solutions at a reasonable price point. The topic's timeliness is accentuated by advancements in gene editing, like CRISPR, which allow complex modifications to be introduced into iPSCs, providing differentiated progeny with new functionalities such as immune evasion and improved cell targeting. 

A key challenge in iPSC application is the transition from research to clinical use, necessitating scalable manufacturing while maintaining quality and consistency. This includes ensuring genetic stability and developing cost-effective production methods. We will describe the trends in allogeneic cell manufacturing and how these techniques apply to iPSC production.

This presentation will describe the current state of iPSC development and manufacture, and how new allogeneic manufacturing capabilities may be applied to iPSCs. Overcoming the challenges to iPSC manufacturing will revolutionize treatment approaches, ushering in an era of off-the-shelf, effective medicine.

  • Overview of allogeneic cell therapy manufacturing trends
  • Consideration for larger scale iPSC manufacturing strategy
  • Options for iPSC analytics and release testing
  • Application of gene editing technologies to iPSC-based cell therapies
Rowan Flynn
Rowan Flynn
Principal Scientist at RoslinCT

As a Principal Scientist at RoslinCT, Rowan brings nearly two decades of valuable research and manufacturing expertise in gene and stem cell therapy. He has developed gene editing strategies for academic and industrial partners and has conducted research in motor neuron disease using genetically modified iPSC-derived cell models. Rowan holds a PhD in Molecular Physiology, an MSc in Biotechnology and a BSc in Microbiology.

Barbara Ressler
Barbara Ressler
VP, Manufacturing Process Sciences at RoslinCT
Barbara has a long history in the CGT space, working on process and analytical development for a variety of autologous and allogeneic cell therapies. She has held leadership roles in both development and contract manufacturing organizations. Currently at RoslinCT Boston she oversees the PD, AD, and MS&T groups.